Posted by: taylorjs | March 23, 2010

Spring Thoughts – 3/23/10

I’ve lost count on game numbers because I’ve been rather lax in my posting, so I’ve switched to identifying by day.  I hope to get a new roster breakdown up somewhere tomorrow as well.

Today’s Big Winner:

I thought long and hard about this one.  I ended up deciding to give it to Nick Punto, who went 2-for-3 with a double and raised his average to a . . . erm . . . robust (?) .192.  If Punto is to have any hope of claiming a starting spot, he needs to finish strong this spring, and this was a good start.  Honorable mention to Pat Neshek, who continues to pitch well as he builds up his strength for a return.

Today’s Big Loser:

Lacking any obvious candidates, I’m going with Matt Tolbert.  Both Tolbert and Casilla finished o-for-1 and continued their horrible springs (neither wants a major league roster spot, apparently).  If push comes to shove, however, I’m assuming the Twins will go with Casilla over Tolbert because Tolbert can still be optioned and Casilla cannot.  In that scenario, Tolbert needs to give the Twins an actual REASON to bring him north.  Right now, he’s not doing it.  Every time he plays without showing something, anything, is a day wasted.

Leave a Reply

Categories

